Walter Perry, (865) 576-0885

                  February 8, 2006


Three new members have joined the        Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board.  They are (from left) David Wesolowski, Gloria Mei, and Wade Johnson.




OAK RIDGE, Tenn. –  The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has announced the appointment of Wade Johnson, Gloria Mei, and David Wesolowski to the Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board (ORSSAB). 

The ORSSAB is a federally chartered citizens’ panel that provides recommendations to the DOE Oak Ridge Environmental Management Program.

“It is an honor for me to welcome these new members to the ORSSAB,” said Steve McCracken, DOE Oak Ridge Assistant Manager for Environmental Management, at the board’s January meeting.  “I’m proud to say that I get to come and participate in these meetings once a month.  What is done here is a benefit to the community and I welcome you as part of it.”

Johnson is the manager of the Business and Industry Center for Roane State Community College in Oak Ridge, where he is responsible for providing companies with professional organizational development and training programs. 

He is chairman of the board of Youth Leadership Anderson County and a member of the Oak Ridge and Anderson County Chambers of Commerce.  Johnson, who lives in Clinton, received a Master of Science degree in industrial and organizational psychology from the University of Tennessee.

Mei is a radiation safety specialist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), where she manages and conducts program activities in radiological design and radiation control.  She received a doctorate in nuclear engineering from Kansas State University.

She is the recipient of the Fermi Hatchet Award at Kansas State, a diplomat of the American Board of Health Physics, and an adjunct associate professor of the Nuclear Engineering Department at the University of Tennessee.   Mei, who lives in Oak Ridge, belongs to several organizations, including the American Nuclear Society, Health Physics Society, and Women in Nuclear.

Wesolowski is a geochemist with UT-Battelle in the Chemical Sciences Division at ORNL.  He received a doctorate in geochemistry and mineralogy from Pennsylvania State University and has authored more than 100 publications in scientific literature.

He is the associate editor of “Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta” and an editorial board member of “Chemical Geology.”  Wesolowski, who lives in Kingston, is a member of several professional societies and civic organizations, including the Boy Scouts of America and the Appalachian Trail Conference.

ORSSAB meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. at the DOE Information Center in Oak Ridge.  Meetings of the Board and its committees are open to the public, and notices are posted on the Board’s Web site: