Many Voices Working for the Community

Oak Ridge
Site Specific Advisory Board

4-c logo 100 pixels.JPG (11680 bytes)






Approved August 13, 2005 Meeting Minutes


The Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board (ORSSAB) held its monthly meeting on Saturday, August 13, 2005, at Pollard Auditorium in Oak Ridge, Tenn., beginning at 4 p.m.


Members Present

Ben Adams

Rhonda Bogard, Secretary

Darryl Bonner

Donna Campbell

Heather Cothron

Amy DeMint

Steve Dixon

Steve Douglas

Linda Grandage

Chris Grove

Pat Hill

Lance Mezga

Norman Mulvenon

Tim Myrick

Robert Olson

Sandy Reagan

Ken Sadler

Kerry Trammell, Chair


Members Absent

Meredith James1, 2

Tonya Justice1

James Miller


1Student Representative

2 Second consecutive absence


Deputy Designated Federal Official and Ex-Officios Present

Dave Adler, Ex-Officio, Department of Energy - Oak Ridge Operations (DOE-ORO)

Pat Halsey, Federal Coordinator, DOE-ORO


Others Present

Luther Gibson

Spencer Gross, Spectrum

Pete Osborne, Spectrum

Ralph Skinner, DOE-ORO

Catherine Whitworth, Spectrum


Pubic Comment

Mr. Gibson, a former ORSSAB member, said the Board’s annual retreat, which was held just prior to the monthly meeting, provided a useful exchange of information. 


Announcements and Other Board Business

The next Board meeting will be Wednesday, September 14 at the DOE Information Center. The meeting presentation will be an overview of the risk assessment process.


The minutes of the July 13, 2005 meeting were approved without change.


Election of the FY 2006 Officers – Mr. Adams, representing the Nominating Committee, submitted a slate of candidates: Secretary, Sandy Reagan; Vice-chair, Rhonda Bogard; and Chair, Kerry Trammell.  Mr. Trammell asked for nominations from the floor; none were forthcoming.  A motion was made to accept the candidates by acclamation, which was approved.


Federal Coordinator Report

Ms. Halsey said that correspondence from DOE to the Environmental Protection Agency and the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation and copied to the Board (Item 456, Attachment 1) is required of DOE to send to the regulators and would note any impacts on projects for fiscal year 2006.


She also noted a letter of congratulations included in the meeting packet from Energy Secretary Samuel Bodman to the Board on its 10th anniversary.


Additions to the Agenda

No additions.


The meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.





Ms. Hill moved to approve the minutes of the July 13, 2005 meeting.  Mr. Dixon seconded and the motion carried unanimously.



Ms. Hill moved to accept the slate of officer candidates for FY 2006 by acclamation.  Mr. Adams seconded.  The motion carried unanimously.


Respectfully submitted,

Rhonda Bogard, Secretary




Attachments (1) to these minutes are available on request from the ORSSAB support office.