Many Voices Working for the Community

Oak Ridge
Site Specific Advisory Board

4-c logo 100 pixels.JPG (11680 bytes)





Approved Aug. 7, 2004, Meeting Minutes


The Oak Ridge Site Specific Advisory Board (ORSSAB) held its monthly meeting on Saturday, Aug. 7, 2004, at the DOE Information Center in Oak Ridge, beginning at 3 p.m., following the Board’s annual planning retreat. A video of the meeting was made and can be viewed by phoning the Information Center at 865-241-4780.


Members Present


Ben Adams

Jake Alexander

Heather Cothron

Dick Berry

Rhonda Bogard

Donna Campbell

Amy DeMint

Luther Gibson

Pat Hill

John Kennerly

Zach Ludwig1

John Million

David Mosby, Chair

Norman Mulvenon, Vice Chair

Luis Revilla, Secretary

Kerry Trammel

1Student representative   


Members Absent

Stephanie Jernigan1

Bob McLeod

Katie Meersman1

Linda Murawski

Christopher Smith


Deputy Designated Federal Official and Ex-Officios Present

Pat Halsey, Federal Coordinator, DOE-ORO


Others Present

Jeannie Brandstetter, Spectrum

Pete Osborne, Spectrum


No members of the public attended the meeting.


Announcements and Other Board Business

Mr. Mosby announced that the next Board meeting will be Wednesday, Sept. 8, 2004, at the DOE Information Center. The meeting will feature an overview of the Dynamic Verification System at East Tennessee Technology Park. Ken Skinner of DOE and Donna Brumley of Bechtel Jacobs Company LLC will provide the information.


Mr. Revilla presented the minutes of the July 14, 2004 (Attachment 1) Board meeting, which were unanimously approved as final.

Election of FY 2005 Board Officers - The Nominating Committee proffered a slate of candidates: Secretary, Rhonda Bogard; Vice-chair Bob McLeod; Chair, Kerry Trammell. Mr. Mosby asked for additional nominations. Mr. Alexander was nominated as Chair, necessitating the vote be taken by written ballot. Following the vote count, Ms. Bogard, Mr. McLeod, and Mr. Trammell were declared to have received sufficient votes to be elected to their respective offices.


First Reading of Revision to ORSSAB Standing Rules – Technical Support - Mr. Mosby presented a series of proposed changes (Attachment 2) to the Board’s Standing Rules that will enable Board members/committees to request technical support. Members reviewed existing wording versus proposed revisions, a Technical Support Request Form and a flow chart describing the process for making a request. A second reading of the revision is planned for the September Board meeting, when the Board will be able to vote on the changes.


Set Date for 2005 Retreat – The Board agreed to set the tentative date for the next retreat on Saturday, Aug. 6, 2005


Mr. Mulvenon suggested Board members applaud Mr. Mosby for his two years’ of service as Board chair.


Federal Coordinator Report

Ms. Halsey said DOE plans to host a public meeting to discuss various haul road alternatives at the end of August.


The meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m.





Mr. Revilla moved to approve the minutes of the July 14, 2004, Board meeting. Mr. Million seconded the motion, and it was unanimously approved by a voice vote.



Mr. Berry moved to add Mr. Alexander as a nominee for Chair to the slate of candidates. Mr. Gibson seconded the motion, and it was unanimously approved by a voice vote.



Mr. Revilla moved to close the nominations for officers, and the motion was unanimously approved by a voice vote.



By a secret ballot, Mr. Trammell, Mr. McLeod and Ms. Bogard were elected to the offices of Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary, respectively.



Ms. Hill moved to set a tentative date for the Board’s next retreat on Saturday, Aug. 6, 2005. Mr. Million seconded the motion, and it was unanimously approved by a voice vote.


Respectfully submitted,

Rhonda Bogard, Secretary




Attachments (2) to these minutes are available on request from the ORSSAB support office.